Fall 2011 Allstate Varsity Invitational Teams

We have our 20 varsity competitors for the Fall 2011 Allstate Varsity Invitational on Saturday, October 15th, 2011.

Alcott HS for the Humanities
Christine Vi/Elizabeth Best

Amundsen HS
CJ Colon/MP Atta-Krah

Gwendolyn Brooks College Prep
Riley Jones/Ryan Jones

Chicago HS for the Agricultural Sciences
Danielle Davis/Mike Cook

Hubbard HS
Jesus Mercado/Yasmine Leggett

Hyde Park Academy
Erin Carley/Shakari Porter
Danielle Rupert/Vichina Austin

Jones College Prep
Angel Valle/Ben Usha

Thomas Kelly HS
Connie Tan/Leo Ramos

Martin Luther King, Jr. College Prep
Hakeem Muhammad/LaDonna Miller

Lane Tech College Prep
Joseph Peculis/Owen Jones

Lincoln Park HS
Amy Liu/Pauline Day

Marshall Metro HS
Raygene Brice/Marshawn Richards

Northside College Prep
Mitchell Caminer/Tom Trieu

Phoenix Military Academy
Brenda Munoz/Carlos Ballesteros

VOISE Academy
Andre Goins/Derrick Barnes

Westinghouse College Prep
Andrew Singleton/Elliot Lugo

Daniel Hale Williams Preparatory School of Medicine
Marissa Bacon/Mercedes Hall

University of Chicago Woodlawn Charter HS
Isaac Brown/Vernon Fleming

Whitney Young Magnet HS
Hanna Nasser/Marcel Roman

Please consult the Fall 2011 Allstate Varsity Invitational Overview for full event details.

Several additional notes.

  • Note that the location has changed: the event will still be held at Allstate’s National Headquarters in Northbrook, but on 3100 Sanders Rd., not 2775 Sanders Rd.
  • We will adhere to the event schedule, which means (a) teams will have to be there on site by 8am on Saturday morning (traffic will likely be light, but most teams will be traveling a long distance, so plan accordingly), and (b) the event will end at 5:30pm.  Each school is responsible for arranging for its own transportation for its debaters.
  • You don’t need to register your debaters, but you do need to register your one judge, with David (davidsong@resources.chicagodebates.org), by Friday, October 7.  Coaches are not required to attend, but you also need to register any additional observers (who are welcome), also with David by 10/7.
  • Each school should inform Bill Altorfer (billaltorfer@resources.chicagodebates.org) who will receive its $500 coach incentive (it can of course be divided) and its $250 debate program incentive (any debate-related purpose is allowable).  And you should submit your Coach Incentive Tax Information Form to Bill, if you have not so already.  You only need submit the form once yearly — it covers all CDC-allocated coach incentives.
  • There are no previewing requirements or argument restrictions of any kind in the competition.
  • Debaters and others should dress up — coat and tie for guys, dress or suit pants for girls.
  • Round I pairings will be posted on the programming site on October 12.  Round I will be paired as a strict power-matched round, based on seedings the CDC will do of all 20 teams, following Tournament One — so seed 1 will debate seed 2, seed 3 will debate seed 4, and so on.

Let us know if you have any questions.

This will be one of the most prestigious events of the year, featuring scholarship awards for the winning teams, top inter-conference competition, VIP guests, and a framework that connects our debaters to their prospective future professional success.

We wish all involved good luck and a great experience.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *