Announcing the Teams Invited to Compete at the 2012 Mayer Brown Nationals Qualifier

2012 Mayer Brown Urban Debate Nationals Qualifier Pods

Pods are balanced based on final rankings at T6 (in parenthesis), the 2012 Allstate CPS Chicago Debate Championship.

The ten teams competing at the 2012 Mayer Brown Nationals Qualifier are:

Alcott High School for the Humanities
Christine Vi and Elizabeth Best
Judge: Christine Horst

Juarez Community Academy High School
Carlos Hernandez and Shabaka Verna
Judge: Edward Ferguson

Martin Luther King, Jr. College Prep
Hakeem Muhammad and LaDonna Miller
Judge: Emma LaBounty

Lane Tech College Prep
Joseph Peculis and Owen Jones
Judge: John Connor

Lincoln Park High School
Kate Galvan and Pauline Day
Judge: Monish Thawani

Northside College Prep
Adira Levine and Norman Luu
Judge: Kevin Steele

Westinghouse College Prep
Andrew Singleton and Elliot Lugo
Judge: Avery Dale

Daniel Hale Williams Preparatory School of Medicine
Marissa Bacon and Mercedes Hall
Judge: Sarah Bury

University of Chicago Woodlawn Charter High School
Isaac Brown and Vernon Fleming
Judge: Vince Bauer

Whitney Young Magnet High School
Hanna Nasser and Sydney Doe
Judge: Wes Fowler

The 2012 Mayer Brown CDL Nationals Qualifier will take place on Saturday, March 31st, with a schedule that runs from 8:00am until 7:30pm. This qualifying event for the 2012 NAUDL Urban Debate National Championship is being sponsored and hosted once again by Mayer Brown, a leading global law firm with offices in key business centers all over the world, and headquartered here in Chicago, on the 45th floor at 71 S. Wacker Dr.

Each school participating will receive a $400 incentive. Each school will be required to supply one judge. Each school will be on its own for transportation to and from the event. Three meals will be provided by Mayer Brown during the event.

The event will include a workshop orienting the debaters to the legal profession, and titled “Urban Debate and Diversifying the Legal Profession”.

Each team will debate every other team in its pod once, and each team will debate on the affirmative and the negative twice. Each round will feature two judges — a Mayer Brown Volunteer and a CDL judge. There is no previewing of any kind for this event, as there will be no previewing at the 2012 NAUDL Urban Debate National Championship.

The team in each pod winning the most ballots, with speaker points functioning as a tie-breaker, will represent Chicago at the 2012 Urban Debate National Championship, April 12-15, in Washington D.C., almost all expenses paid by the National Association for Urban Debate Leagues.

Chicago will be competing to try to re-capture the national title in urban debate, and to win its fourth NAUDL national championship in five years.

Let us know if you have any questions.

We thank Mayer Brown for its continued support, and especially CDC Board member Mary Richardson-Lowry for helping to make this event possible.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *