Announcing the Teams Competing at the 2013 McDermott Will & Emery JV Invitational

The CDC has invited 10 of the top Junior Varsity debate teams in the city to the 2013 McDermott Will & Emery JV Invitational.

The MWE JV Invitational schedule includes four rounds of debate, with a workshop on the connection between urban debate and the legal profession in the middle (and just following lunch). Then the top two teams will debate in a Championship Round, the third and fourth seed teams debating in a Runner-Up Round. The top five teams will be recognized, along with the top ten individual speakers.

The event will be held in the offices of McDermott Will & Emery, in the Franklin Center, 227 West Monroe St.

Coaches will receive a $300 incentive, in two payments, one prior to and one at the event. Schools are obligated to provide their own transportation and one judge. Coaches are not obligated to attend. Two judges will be assigned to each round, one MWE attorney and one CDL judge.

Parents and observers are welcome, but have to register no later than March 8th, with Christine (

Three excellent meals will be provided on site. Parking passes will be provided for parking in the Franklin Center, 227 West Monroe St.

We have distilled the 2013 MWE JV Invitational Runnable Caselist. Affirmative case previews are available within the larger set of T6 previews.

2013 McDermott Will & Emery JV Invitational Teams

Amundsen H.S.
Team: Saad Malik and Vicky Cao
Coaches: Andrew Robinson and Asher Stuhlman

Bogan H.S.
Team: Alberto Gama and Miguel Olaez
Coaches: Vicki Willis and Christine Laadimi

Chicago H.S. for the Agricultural Sciences
Team: Geno Makena and Josh Driver
Coaches: Chris Harris and Camille Calabrese

Hyde Park Academy
Team: Ja’lisa Hemmingway and Alitah Moore
Coaches: Jessie Mulder and Sarah Ungureit

Thomas Kelly H.S.
Team: Eva Alcala and Yesenia Salgado
Coaches: Scott Dodsworth and Jenny Nolan

Little Village H.S.
Team: Lisbeth Reynoso and Roxana Arroyo
Coaches: Yvette Campos, Jose Ramirez, and Chris McCabe

Marshall Metro H.S.
Team: Brandon Freeman and Kiara Harris
Coaches: Jim Dorrell and Don Baumgertner

Senn H.S.
Team: Jessica Velez and Myesha Thomas
Team: Jorge Cataquispe and Lison Carpenter
Coaches: Nikole Burrell and Amy Coffelt

Taft H.S.
Team: Brenda Arteaga and Tarik Shahzad
Coaches: Ryan Glowacz and Scott Plencer

Daniel Hale Williams Prep School of Medicine
Team: Andrea Morris and Neeyah Muhammad
Coaches: Adrienne Handelman and Kathleen Ryan

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *