2013 McDermott Will & Emery JV Invitational Results

[nggallery id=38]

The Chicago Debate League held its 4th annual Junior Varsity Championship for neighborhood (non-RCC) schools this weekend, the 2013 McDermott Will and Emery Urban Debate JV Invitational. In addition to featuring highly-engaged competition, and some especially valuable instructional feedback from judges (three weeks in advance of the 2013 Chicago Debate Championship), the event centered on urban debate’s connection to the legal profession and the ways in which Chicago debaters might consider and pursue a legal career.

With regard to the competition, Marshall Metro H.S. won the 2013 MWE JV Championship, for the second year in a row, while Neeyhah Muhammad from Daniel Hale Williams HS won Top Speaker. The top teams and top speakers lists follow.

2013 McDermott Will and Emery JV Urban Debate Invitational Top Teams

2012 McDermott Will and Emery Urban Debate JV Invitational Top Speakers

McDermott Will & Emery Results Packet

Full List of the 2013 McDermott Will & Emery JV Invitational Participating Teams

Bogan H.S.
Team: Alberto Gama and Miguel Olaez
Coaches: Vickki Willis and Christine Laadimi

Chicago H.S. for the Agricultural Sciences
Team: Geno Makena and Josh Driver
Coaches: Chris Harris and Camille Calabrese

Hyde Park Academy
Team: Ja’lisa Hemmingway and Alitah Moore
Coaches: Jessie Mulder and Sarah Ungureit

Thomas Kelly H.S.
Team: Eva Alcala and Yesenia Salgado
Coaches: Scott Dodsworth and Jenny Nolan

Little Village H.S.
Team: Lisbeth Reynoso and Roxana Arroyo
Coaches: Yvette Campos, Jose Ramirez, and Chris McCabe

Marshall Metro H.S.
Team: Brandon Freeman and Kiara Harris
Coaches: Jim Dorrell and Don Baumgertner

Senn H.S.
Team: Jessica Velez and Myesha Thomas
Team: Jorge Cataquispe and Lishon Carpenter
Coaches: Nikole Burrell and Amy Coffelt

Taft H.S.
Team: Brenda Arteaga and Tarik Shahzad
Coaches: Ryan Glowacz and Scott Plencer

Daniel Hale Williams Prep School of Medicine
Team: Andrea Morris and Neeyah Muhammad
Coaches: Adrienne Handelman and Kathleen Ryan

We thank Chicago Debate Commission Board of Directors member and McDermott Will & Emery partner Nathan Coco, and McDermott Will & Emery partner and co-chair of McDermott’s Racial and Ethnic Diversity Committee Michael Boykins, and all of the MWE volunteers who took part on Saturday, for their great generosity and on-going support.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *