The 2014 Golden Gavel Award

The Chicago Debate League will be awarding the 14th Annual Golden Gavel Award at the 2014 Chicago Debate Championship on March 29th. The Golden Gavel Award is the Chicago Debate League’s highest honor given to a coach. It’s our Coach of the Year award.

Here’s how the selection process works. We ask that each CDL coach (regular and external) vote for two coaches from your conference, from the list of official coaches in each conference below. One ballot (voting for two coaches) per coach, not one ballot per school. Vote by sending an email to no later than Wednesday, March 5th with two names — no explanatory “nomination” necessary. You may vote for yourself and/or your co-coach.

We will announce prior to the Chicago Debate Championship the eight finalists — the two coaches from each conference with the most votes. Each finalist will receive a certificate and $100 at the Chicago Debate Championship Awards Ceremony. The CDL administration will select a single winner from the list of finalists as the 2014 Golden Gavel Award winner. He or she will receive an additional $200, a very handsome Golden Gavel Award, and a place in CDL history.

The purpose of the award is to recognize the special excellence of a small group of our coaches — with one coach being most distinguished. By extension, the Golden Gavel Award acknowledges the dedication and effectiveness of the entirety of our coaches’ community.


Robb Berry (Northside)
Elyse Conklin (Whitney Young)
Dara Davis (Lane Tech)
Sydney Doe (Evanston)
Andrew Fine (Lane Tech)
Adam Hausman (Northside)
Kamasi Hill (Evanston)
Valerie House (Lane Tech)
Angela Iagaru (Whitney Young)
George Liu (Payton)
Nick Locke (Lane Tech)
Shelley Shimon (Lane Tech)
Vincent Vinluan (Payton)


Victor Anaya (Westinghouse)
Brian Beck (Marshall)
Kailey Cole (Lincoln Park)
Bill Colson (Morgan Park)
Caitlin Dodds (Lincoln Park)
Scott Dodsworth (Thomas Kelly)
Jim Dorrell (Marshall)
Bob Edwards (Phoenix)
Laura Fanning (Lindblom)
Athena Frost (U. of C. Woodlawn)
Cvetko Georgevich (Brooks)
Ryan Glowacz (Taft)
Justin Graham (King)
Nick Johnson (Marshall)
Phil Kraft (Ogden)
Benjamin Krier (Von Steuben)
Emma LaBounty (King)
Nick Locke (Thomas Kelly)
Melina Luna (Alcott)
Kourtney McAuliff (Lincoln Park)
Janae Meaders (Morgan Park)
Rachael Nicholas (Taft)
Jen Nolan (Thomas Kelly)
John O’Brien (Ogden)
Scott Plencer (Taft)
Eric Reyes (Westinghouse)
Shariba Rivers (U. of Chicago Woodlawn)
Samuel Sanchez (Phoenix)
Max Smith (U. of C. Woodlawn)
Peter Van (Lindblom)

“A” Conference

David Abraham (Hyde Park)
Vellore Adithi (Hyde Park)
Alex Bahls (Kenwood)
Elizabeth Best (Alcott)
Nick Bieter (Amundsen)
Nikole Burrell (Senn)
Conor Cameron (Solorio)
Amy Coffelt (Senn)
Matt Cossett (Juarez)
Jose Cruz (PCS Joslin)
Alvarez Dixon (Champaign Central)
Liz Farrow (Kenwood)
Aaron Feinhandler (Schurz)
Todd Frantz (Amundsen)
Walter Glascoff (Hubbard)
Malcolm Gowder (Ellison)
Adrienne Handelman (Williams)
Chris Harris (Chicago Ag.)
Isabel Juarez (Schurz)
Jesse Nash (Hubbard)
Yolanda Novales (Hubbard)
Alfredo Peralta (Juarez)
Kathleen Ryan (Williams)
Kevin Rutter (Schurz)
Karen Sheehan (PCS Joslin)
Cassie Williams (Ellison)

“AA” Conference

Lorita Arnwine (Urban Prep Bronzeville)
Zac Collins (PCS Calumet)
Baptiste Dixon (Urban Prep Bronzeville)
William Dufficy (Harlan)
Siobhan Fleming (North Grand)
Phyllis Ford-France (Michele Clark)
Nina Fuentes (Epic)
Sharon Green-Powell (Julian)
Eric Grover (Richards)
Lamont Holifield (Urban Prep Bronzeville)
Alexandra Ibrahim (Epic)
Kate Klein (RTC Medical Prep)
Christine Laadmi (Bogan)
Joann Lugardo (North Grand)
Christopher McCabe (Little Village)
KZ Mendoza (RTC Medical Prep)
Caitlin Miller (Kennedy)
Andrew Peterson (PCS Calumet)
Jose Ramirez (Little Village)
Lavie Raven (North Lawndale)
Yamali Rodriguez (Little Village)
Alan Sager (UNO Garcia)
Crystle Saylor (Harlan)
David Smith (Julian)
Kevin Trant (Kennedy)
Jenny Vaughn (Epic)
Christine Vi (Julian)
Zane Waxman (North Lawndale)
Vickki Willis (Bogan)
Steven Woods (Clark)
Lucas Woolums (Air Force)

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *