The 2012 McDermott Will and Emery Urban Debate Invitational for JV Debaters was held on Saturday, March 17th, in the Chicago offices of MWE.

It was a great success, with feedback — from debaters, coaches, administrators, and MWE volunteers — that couldn’t be more positive.

[nggallery id=28]


Teams Awards

1.  Marshall

2. CICS — Ellison

3. Evanston

4. Brooks

5. Westinghouse

Speaker Awards

1. Esther Isaac, Evanston

2. Gabriel Neri, Westinghouse

3. Tatiana Foster, Marshall

4. Saaleh Johnson, Brooks

5. Danielle Harris, Marshall

6. Jasmine Mercado, Von Steuben

7. Malcom Gowder, CICS — Ellison

8. Mario Torres, Thomas Kelly

9. Alejandra Delcid, Von Steuben

10. Makaia Barnes, Evanston

Please review the full team results, if you’re interested.

And the full list of invited teams, the top ten JV teams in the “AA,” “A,” and LCC, after five tournaments.

Brooks College Prep (LCC)
Saaleha Johnson and Sarina Shane
Judge: Patricia Humphrey

Chicago International Charter Schools – Ralph Ellison High School (“AA”)
Malcolm Gowder and Patrick Johnson
Judge: Lamont Holifield

Michele Clark Magnet High School (“A”)
Antonio Lee and Christopher Madkins
Judge: Phyllis Ford-France

Evanston Township High School (LCC)
Esther Isaac and Makaia Barnes
Judge: Kamasi Hill

Julian High School (“AA”)
Chevon Morris and David Smith
Judge: Sharon Green-Powell

Thomas Kelly High School (LCC)
Danny Tan and Mario Torres
Judge: Armando Garcia

Marshall High School (“A”)
Danielle Harris and Tatiana Foster
Judge: Jim Dorrell

Taft High School (LCC)
Aya Idowu and Brian Griffith
Judge: Rachael Nicholas

Von Steuben Metropolitan Science Center (“A”)
Alejandra Delcid and Jasmine Mercado
Judge: Kurt Hilgendorf

Westinghouse College Prep High School (“A”)
Dechon Jones and Gabriel Neri
Judge: Dr. Janice Jackson