style=The Chicago Debate League’s competitive season culminates with its most prestigious and important event, the 15th Annual Allstate CPS Chicago Debate Championship. The Chicago Debate Championship brings together each of the 55 high schools in 4 conferences to compete for the title of Chicago Debate Champion in the Varsity and JV divisions. Each school receives one at-large entry of two students and strives to qualify additional students by placing in the team elimination-rounds in one of the first five tournaments of the year.

The  Chicago Debate Championship includes a very special Awards Ceremony and reception on Saturday, March 24, featuring guests representing the Chicago Public Schools, the Chicago Debate Commission and our Premier Sponsor, Allstate.

In addition to awarding the top debaters at the tournament, we will honor year-long accomplishments with our annual awards: the CDL Debater of the Year Award; Alumnus of the Year; Adjudicator of the Year; the Justice Seymour Simon Award (for the single most important contribution made to the CDL this year); the Richard M. Daley Leadership Award (for best student leader); Principal of the Year Award; Golden Gavel Award (for top coach of the year); and the Betty Willhoite Award (for highest participation by one school).

Preliminary debates take place on Friday March 23 and Saturday March 24. The tournament culminates with semifinals and finals on Sunday, March 25. We look forward to a competitive and exciting celebration of 15 years of debate in the public schools of Chicago.